Children’s tales…that’s really all on my mind now!

I remember as a kid being fascinated by those early morning episodes on television, that were kind of like all about reading aloud children’s tales. Now, I am not a big fan of having to skip my favourite television shows for something that makes it so easy to fall asleep even for an overeager early riser, but those stories that would be read aloud still had a strange pull-factor that’s hard to pin down. It wasn’t so much like Goosebumps, but more like Winnie the Pooh – the stories were fun, heartwarming, and entertaining.

It’s so tough to escape that atmosphere now with screenings of The BFG, to an ODEON near you. At least, that’s what it’s like for me: I am a big fan of The BFG for it’s illustrations by Quentin Blake which looks so beautiful to me, and because the book is by a British author called Roald Dahl, whose books I have been avidly trying to finish reading since I was a teenager.

You know, I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t expecting an animated edition of it on the big screen originally, and that I had to settle for a movie in the end. But I am still happy it made it to the movies because that is just one brilliant children’s story out of so many brilliant children’s stories around the world, that now can also boast has a film of it’s very own. For that, and for the kind giant, it is hard to escape the endless attractive atmosphere of children’s tales during this monsoon season!

The BFG & more...

 

Leave a Reply

