Wanderlust Camping

If you had to go camping what would be the essentials that would go into your backpack?

I love camping. Imagine going away to Argyll for some much needed Scottish love. You get to put up a tent and put all your girl scout training (or my love for camping) into practice, for a start. Then I wonder that the very wise saying “practice makes perfect” is correct because I don’t want my camping skills to get rubbish at all. When camping, I would take a good book, perhaps like a classic, preferably something by Charles Dickens or William Shakespeare, a battery operated torch, spare batteries, an umbrella, a stationary bag filled with stationary items, such as pens and pencils, a notepad, sleeping bag, water bottle, hairbrush, cell phone,  my iPod and my camera…..and of course my tent!

Would you actually carry toothpaste and toothbrush? Can you not just act your age and go without brushing your teeth for a week? I hate the thought of packing too much when gone camping because you also have to think about how you alone will be out there dragging all that awful load. In Scotland, there are rivers everywhere, and I feel you can still give your face a good and healthy clean. I think the funniest thing is when someone would suggest carrying a water purifier around while going camping…clearly camping and them are just not meant to be! Now, the fun part! What kind of food would you take? These would go into my backpack:

  • Muffins
  • Toffee Popcorn
  • Mattesons Fridge Raiders
  • Hot Dogs
  • Walkers Crisps
  • Marshmallows
  • Biscuits
  • Corn, for roasting in the open fire, like a toasted corn-on-the cob

You can’t go camping without getting marshmallows. That is like tradition. You just have to roast marshmallows in the open fire. You can carry butter if you like, but I’m not hiking in my CAT boots all the way to Argyll from my hometown, with tonnes of stuff to carry. No frills wanderlust camping is how I like my camping! I am serious…it’s not pretty when you have to do it! If you really want to have restaurant-style food while your camping, you really should head to your local kebab store, and grab some delicious kebabs, instead and then catch the latest romantic chick-flick playing at your local theaters…do everything but camping, “as you like it” ! Next thing you know, you will be suggesting carrying around cheese, salad, chicken curry and rice, roast potatoes, yorkshire puddings, roast beef….and gravy! Another things is that, I’m really high maintenance: my sleeping bag needs to be pretty. It has to be cool, like this one:

image

I’m not particular about the colour of my tent but I think a blue one would be pretty. Like an electric blue one. I would like to imagine my two ferocious puppies (my pets) if they had accompanied me on the trip would particularly like a blue tent. I would wear my CAT hiking boots to it and they are so heavy, they really are because they’re anti-oil-spill, and for walking on the snow, more like stomping on the snow, and walking on rough terrains! Other than that I would wear shorts, a cartoon-print t-shirt, and a hoodie, because you know, you only go camping in the summer in Britain, if you like know Britain at all!…yeah, no I wouldn’t carry spare clothes. My backpack is already too full with food and essentials. I think people are just far too ridiculously painfully uptight….spare clothes in place of hot dogs and biscuits, really?

Be Cool 😉 !

Leave a Reply

