Vogue & Anna Wintour

Anna Wintour's first ever Vogue cover (November 1988)
Anna Wintour’s first ever Vogue cover (November 1988)

Vogue. The word itself inspires fear in the fashion industry. And its only because of one person, and you know who it is don’t you? It’s Anna Wintour, the Editor of the American fashion publication. Vogue is an age-old publication, having released its first print edition, way back in 1892. Vogue has always been targeting the rich classes, but under its previous editor, Diana Vreeland, the magazine did the unthinkable and started to feature the sexual revolution that was going on nowhere in the 1960s. It started talking more openly about sex and she claims to have made Twiggy a supermodel but you just know that’s a lie. The British supermodel Twiggy became prominent in the modelling industry because of fronting fashion campaigns for numerous magazines, at best.

Oh no, no, that’s such a wrong slip-thing Diana Vreeland did there: it was the 1970s that saw about a sexual revolution with the whole original Charlie’s Angels and the legend that was Farah Fawcett. Remember that iconic poster of her where Fawcett wears an orange swimsuit and has sunshine retro curls (?), with a million-dollar smile? Yup, so strange those looks but that was the seventies. Think floral prints, drugs, sex, hippies, and of course if you want to dabble in idiosyncrasy, then plenty of sunshine and fun as well. Then came Grace Mirabella, the new Editor of Vogue, and she changed the magazine quite a lot. She featured affordable fashion because there was an apparent American recession in the 1970s that economics books just forgot to note down, started to feature high-end designers such as Yves Saint Laurent, and now it was all about dressing casually, because bell-bottoms and mini skirts are the definition of casual fashion, that no one in the fashion industry regards to be.

So, then finally she was replaced by Anna Wintour. Wintour, who’s British by the way, made the magazine more younger and approachable. The magazine has been going all political these days. There are serious issues being discussed, such as fashion in the Middle East and how different cultures interpret fashion basically. True, Wintour got that job like no one does, without a degree – it was mainly experience really; her contacts did play a very important role in her climbing the social ladder but why is that weird? A lot of people like to jump on the bandwagon that, “Anna Wintour has lost her touch!” but I can never be those – its one thing you can rest assure, you will never find me saying.

Wintour hasn’t lost her touch or her vision; yes the magazine is just trying to keep up with the times a lot, I guess very in tune with America, which is known to modernise itself and press forward, rather than preserve the old, as the rich (and sometimes stuffy) classes would like them to be – think of residents in 5th Avenue in New York City. I often spent my time, to be honest, pouring over Anna Wintour’s first ever magazine cover, where she paired a luxury noir jumper adorned with a bejewelled cross, with a pair of high street jeans. The magazine cover intrigued me, because I knew that to make it in fashion, I had to just be myself, and I am very individualistic. I never pair a luxury item with something off the high street, no my look is all about decking in head-to-toe couture, I only want to see couture and nothing else. The only other exception to that is ofcourse, pile on the Topshop and River Island creations, it’s all about the high street today!

People say that “…but she’s just putting her fashion sense”, which I was famous for in the elite circles I grew up in, even before I became “distinction for my brains”, “…into the looks she styles!” But to me you know, that is what fashion is all about. I love fashion so much, I always look stylish, even when I am lounging around in my pyjamas. So I believe that as an Editor, the best approach to stylizing a particular look, is to introduce your individual fashion sense to the look and make it all work for each look, each celebrity, each model, each Hollywood starlet or simply an inspirational lady, like, Princess Grace for example.

It is challenging to run a blog, in these persistent fashion climates. I call it persistent because every other blog is a style file ‘magazine’. Sure, some of them get featured but I guess when you are trying to do something different, it’s hard, because its so trailblazing. I often get confused over fashion decisions but nevertheless just push through the decision anyway and later spend hours thinking about it, that as usual for such decisions I just went with my own instinct, and I trust I made the right decision. When Vogue recommends something as it has done for years, its just for elementary purposes really, it isn’t to make a sell, because most of the items featured on it are worth $1000 and who has that kind of stash stocked up to begin with, with or without a recession in place, it’s to look at! It’s to dream! It’s a fantasy at the end of the day! It’s art! You indulge in the art! You don’t actually live it!

No, that would be me! I live my life in fashion and one my biggest passions as an Editor has been to live it, no matter what. But ofcourse I take into account the fact that when there is a recession, it would be best to wear cheap fashion finds, like all the original pieces that were manufacutred locally in South Asia, for foreign markets, like Europe/the USA, I have been pairing a lot with my lovely British fashion finds. I always dress in luxury, that I do, yes. Anna Wintour’s first ever Vogue cover was a step away from the headshot style photographs that were famous in magazines around the time. If you look at her first cover, all I can find was that she was a woman who dared to do something different, she dared to pair a pair of jeans, I don’t even know from where, with a $10,000 worth of a jumper from Christian Lacroix. I’m not entirely sure what high fashion and low fashion is because I do not shop “mentally ultra-special market finds” (I don’t buy items that fall apart the moment they go into my washing machine, no, because the quality might be so bad it’s not even funny!) and hence do not get that lingo for that matter, but its not just about mixing the high street with couture, its also the headlines she chose to put out.

I mean she talks about issues I have spent my whole life reading about in ELLE, and yes the occasional Vogue too. She speaks about “The Real Cost of Looking Good”, teaches you about Paris couture (I have to admit I don’t quite fancy her take on the male subject right there on the cover, sounds like womens issues I would just snore at really!) and the revolution in fashion at the time, about colour! Where are such articles? Why do I never read any such thing? Why do I only have to content myself with a cover? Where is Anna Wintour and WHAT is she doing really that her Vogue is no longer spurning out such articles? I spend a considerable amount of my time on Vogue.com I have to be honest for reading purposes, because I count on it, just like I do Vogue France, and I never see anything of that sort anywhere! It’s always Claire Danes,…and I swear I read something about a very disturbing spa visit somewhere that somehow made its way onto Vogue (as reading material for all of us), and then there’s the Best Dressed list, which is just one random person after another.

I know she features socialites a lot but there is big difference in between a socialite who looks good and one who doesn’t and I know I am such a bitch, but if your going to only include 10 people, shouldn’t you at least see if they look good? I guess, with Vogue, sometimes, maybe not! Not only do majority of the public in the world have no clue who Anna Wintour is to begin with, but people really have no interest in a Vogue, that is an American magazine that only caters to the rich. I do not think it should change its perspective because as I have always said that I am always behind Anna Wintour in everything she does, and Vogue is entirely her perspective, she has that reputation of “Nuclear Wintour” because she has so much control over the magazine and now that control has gone over to Condé Nast, which can only be good news. Its not so extraordinary really, those kinds of terms, given the big amount of debate around it for Wintour…I think it’s hard to find a day when I’m not a bitch myself in everything I do! It does my head in as to how most can be so passive to morons and garbage-happenings-around-the-world – lots and lots of kinds of garbage!

Leave a Reply

